“I Will Be Found By You”

     I gave my blog a makeover. Gone is the dark brown background and black and white picture of me. Now, it’s vibrant and colorful and more exciting. I know people can change how their blogs look whenever they want (that’s kind of the point of having a personal blog in the first place), but to me, it’s symbolic. Don’t worry, I’m not going to go all “deep” here…or maybe I am…you can never tell where I’ll end up in my posts.

     But anyway, school starts in four days. Although it’s probably been the most defining summer of my life so far, I think I’m ready to go back to school. It’ll be my second year in college. Going back to school after a three-month break gives me a chance to start over. Although I joke with my friends about “reinventing” myself before each new semester, my focus isn’t on trying to be a different person each time I return to school after a break. True, I’m not going to change who I was made to be as far as my everyday “unique” (interpret that word however you want) self goes, but I DO have some goals I have every intention of working on. 

     Like I said, this summer has taught me lots and lots about myself, other people, and God.  The crazy (a good kind of crazy) thing about faith is, just when you think you’ve learned a lesson, you realize there’s SO much more left for you to learn. It’s true that God usually doesn’t speak audibly to His children (although, I believe He CAN), but He uses other methods of getting your attention. Let me share one of those methods with you…

     Ever heard of Jeremiah 29:11? It’s a pretty popular Old Testament verse. It says,

’For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.’” (NIV)

That’ s one of the verses I grew up knowing. However, the next couple of verses never really caught my attention until this summer. Jeremiah 29:12-14 (the very next verses) say,

“’Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. I will be found by you,’ declares the Lord…”

God may have spoken these promises to His children a couple thousand years ago, but if there’s one thing to keep in mind about God, it’s that He ALWAYS keeps His promises. ALWAYS, hands down.

     So here’s the thing: verses 12-14 say that if you look for God – really, truly seek Him – then He will hear your prayers and you will be drawn closer to Him. If you ask me what my life verse is, I’ll automatically say Romans 12:2 (see one of my first posts), but this is my verse for this upcoming year of school.

     This is my 2nd year of college stuff, and I’ve witnessed first hand what lives are like when people lose their focus and stop seeking the face of their Savior. I don’t know about you, but I definitely want to seek and find God with all my heart! I’m making a commitment to make this a priority. I challenge you to do the same. Let’s decide right now to seek God in ALL we do this coming year; let’s decide to be a difference!

-Anna

2 thoughts on ““I Will Be Found By You”

  1. I really like this new format! The other one was…okay, but this one feels a lot more bloggy. What is it called? I agree; I need to follow God and make a difference in people in my life’s lives. There are some really evil things out there, but if we do the right thing, we might inspire others to do the right thing to. Mr. Morlan says “Integrity: do the right thing 100% of the time, and you won’t have to worry about the result. If you give all you have and do the right thing, you’ll always win.” (or something like that?)

    Like

  2. I agree; it’s much more bloggy. This theme is called “Matala,” and you can do all kinds of things to customize it – which I really like!

    I’ve heard that when you’re fully committed to following God, others will naturally notice what you’re doing. Which means you’re held to a high standard: God’s standard. Which means, if you hold yourself to His standard, (like you said) “you won’t have to worry about the result.”

    Like

Please feel free to comment. I'd love to hear from you!

