Every Thought

Today, rather than offering a long-winded piece of my mind like I’m often apt to do, I wanted to post a verse for you. It’s one I’ve been focusing on a lot recently, so I wanted to share it. It’s one of those easier-said-than-done kind of verses. It’s the kind of verse that makes me realize there’s always room for me to move closer to Jesus.

“For though we live in the world, we do not wage war as the world does.The weapons we fight with are not the weapons of the world. On the contrary, they have divine power to demolish strongholds.  We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.” – 2 Corinthians 10:3-5

That whole thing is powerful, but the last phrase, take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ, that’s the gut-puncher for me. Not only is acting like Christ outwardly required of us, but even our thoughts must be conformed to the will of God.

That’s what I’ve been meditating on recently. I’m hoping to explore more of this and share how it’s been challenging me in one of next week’s posts.

How about you? Is there a verse that won’t let go of your heart and mind?

In His love,

Anna

5 thoughts on “Every Thought

  1. Ah…one the verses that I have wrestled with over and over my entire adult life. So thankful for God’s grace! The other one is Philippians 4:8.

    Like

  2. Yup. There is :)

    Lately, it’s been 1 Corinthians 13:4-8 & 13, and also Joshua 1:9. The past 5 months, I’ve really learned so much about real love and about courage. It’s been great to see things differently as a result of that.

    Thanks for sharing! That’s a great verse!

    Like

    • Those are really powerful verses. The 1 Corinthians passages come to my mind a lot because I’m constantly learning how to love people through different situations. And Joshua 1:9 is definitely encouraging. Thank you so much for sharing! :)

      Like

  3. Pingback: Every Thought (Part II) « Anna Schaeffer

Please feel free to comment. I'd love to hear from you!

