A Single Word

I’m one of those people who actually makes a list of New Year’s resolutions. I’m also one of those people who types up the list using a fancy font, prints it out, and signs it. Last year, my resolutions were printed in a sophisticated, italicized script, 12pt. They were even bordered by a neat little design I found on my word processor. I did all of this in the hope that I would actually pay attention to my resolutions and stick with them for an entire year.

The list was an outline of what I wanted to strive for in 2012, and at a glance, it may not have seemed like that big of a deal. But to me, it was a list of things that were on my heart; two pages of things I needed to work on throughout the year.

I’m blessed to have an incredible accountability partner who is committed to praying for me, while I do the same for her. I gave her a copy of my list because she knows my heart, which in effect, means she knows what that 2012 list of resolutions truly meant to me. 

As the end of December approached, I thought of a whole bunch of things I could add to a new list; new things my prayer warrior friend could take to the throne of Grace. I thought of so many things I wanted to strive for in 2013 that I became overwhelmed. I had trouble trying to decide what really needed to be on the list.

So I prayed about it.

Throughout the final days of December, and even on into the first few days of January, I asked God where He wanted my focus to be this coming year. Although I’m still working on many of the things that appeared on my list last year, I wanted to start over with a completely different kind of list. I just didn’t know how.

And then one day it came to me. It didn’t hit me all at once; it started seeping slowly into my mind and heart. And rather than a whole list of to-dos, it came as a single word. I’ve never had a “word of the year” before. I understood the point of it, but life always changes so much throughout the course of 365 days that I didn’t know if a single word would apply to all of my 2013. And yet, the word stuck with me.

The more I thought about it, the more having a word represent the entire coming year made sense. Last year, my list was lengthy, but it needed to be. 2012 was a year of big change for me. I learned how to surrender areas of my life to God that I had selfishly held onto, thinking I knew what was best for myself. I faced things I had never dealt with before, and my faith grew in new ways. I know I still have to learn to surrender, face new things, and grow in my faith, but last year was, in a way, a catalyst.

That’s why, this year, I went with something simple: a single word. And although the word is short, it has a whole lot of meaning behind it. In upcoming blog posts, I may explain my reasons behind this word a little more, but for now, I just want to share it with you.

I don’t usually make a big deal out of sharing my resolutions, and most of this one will stay between God and me, but I want to share the word with you.

My word for 2013 is simply

Know

May 2013 be an exciting time in which we strive to know God, know His promises, know His truths, and know His Word.

In His love,

Anna

What about you? What does the word know mean to you? Do you have a New Year’s resolution or word of the year?

“You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.”
– Jeremiah 29:13

5 thoughts on “A Single Word

  1. That is so cool :) I love your word.

    I actually had a conversation last week trying to explain what I see behind that word to someone. I see “know” as more than “know about”…it’s something hard to describe. “Know” to me means more than facts. It means knowing someone’s heart. :D

    I read about that in one of my mom’s books–“Not a Fan.” The guy who wrote it used a good example of the difference between knowing someone and knowing about someone. He said fans of celebrities know ABOUT them; all the facts like when and where they were born, and the favorite color. But, he said, friends of those celebrities know more than that. They know how the person behaves in private, who their real self is. He said followers of Christ should know more than the facts. We should know God’s heart and character, not just the stories and the rules.

    Wow, that turned out kind of long…but I just thought it was so cool that it kind of connected like that :)

    Like

    • I really like how you put that – “‘Know’ to me means more than facts. It means knowing someone’s heart.”
      That’s what I’m aiming for. In a way, I’ve known God for a really long time, but I want to actually *know* Him beyond general information about Who He is. I’ve been memorizing Bible verses since I was little, but I want to really *know* Scripture and how it applies to my life.
      My sister got the teen version of “Not a Fan” for Christmas. I haven’t read it yet, but I really want to!
      That IS cool how it all connected. Thanks for sharing! :)

      Like

  2. Pingback: Resolutely Yours | Anna Schaeffer

  3. Pingback: Fully | Anna Schaeffer

  4. Pingback: Welcome, 2016 | Anna Schaeffer

Please feel free to comment. I'd love to hear from you!

