Guest Post: “He is Able”

Note: The month of February was short and busy (kind of like my youngest sister), which means the details of February’s guest post didn’t come together until over the weekend. But I think you’ll agree that, although the post comes a little later than expected, it’s totally worth it (also like Little Sis).

emilyannaToday’s guest post is written by my dear friend Emily, and I’m very excited to share it with you. I can always count on her to give me a listening ear or level-headed advice whenever I have life stuff to sort through. She’s my accountability partner, prayer warrior, and fellow hot tea drinker (basically, if you drink hot tea, we’re automatically kindred spirits). Emily has a beautiful relationship with Christ, and she’s always challenging me in my own faith. She isn’t afraid to follow God’s call, even when she doesn’t have all the answers. In fact, she recently started her own blog called “Not My Own” (click here to visit) which you should definitely check out. She’s using her blog to document her journey of faithfully following God through some very unique opportunities.Thus, for those reasons and many more, I wanted her to share a little of what God is doing in her life on my blog. I hope you’ll find it as encouraging as I did.

In His love,

Anna

He is Able

by Emily Hokrein

When Anna first asked me if I wanted to do a guest post on her blog, I readily said “Yes!”. Shortly thereafter, I realized what this not-so-good writer had gotten herself into, and I quickly began a pleurae of questions: “Do you want it to be serious? Funny? Both? Do you want it to be long, or something shorter?” and on and on my questions went. Anna simply replied, “Whatever you want!”. Okay then, I thought, I’ll just come up with something that has a good lesson behind it (more my cup of tea when it comes to writing), and hopefully makes some degree of sense. It is my hope and prayer that you can get a glimpse of just how great our God is through this post!

A couple of weeks ago, I went on a weekend retreat to the mountains with my sister’s church college group. She drove the first half, and then I, being the sweet sister that I am, offered to drive the second half, which by this point was in the mountains. Never having driven in a mountainous area before, I was understandably a little nervous (okay, maybe a lot), but tried my best to think of it as an “adventure” to help chase away the fears. We were driving west into the bright sunset, when suddenly the Great Smokey’s loomed directly in front of us as far as the eye could see. Cruising down the interstate toward this stunning sight, it was hard to believe there was even a way to get through them, as they appeared to make a very immense wall. The closer we got, the harder it was to fathom how exactly the road was going to get us through the towering mountains. Before I knew it, we were upon them. Sure enough, a little valley suddenly appeared that the road would take us through. The whole drive was like that; just when it appeared there was no way to pass the mountain in front of us, the road would take a turn (and there were many of them!), we would go into another valley, or we would just plow through (aka going through a tunnel). The next 30 miles were some of the tensest of my life, but they were also beautiful and I learned an even greater lesson through it.

Getting through all of those seemingly impassible obstacles in the mountains reminded me of something about our Great God. Just like that road winding us through the mountains, He is our Guide, and He will help us get through all of the troubles and obstacles life throws at us. He is able to make something that seems impossible to get past possible. He is able to provide you with twists and turns in the road when you thought there was no other way to go. He is able to give you the strength and endurance you need, especially when the only option is to go through the thickest and most daunting part (think of a tunnel that pierces straight through a mountain). When something that is before you appears impossible to get through, and you just want to give up because the journey seems hopeless, remember that with Christ as our Guide, anything is possible. The obstacles in our life vary from person to person, whether it is a job situation, a difficult family issue, a pile of schoolwork that seems endless, or anything else you may be facing. I found some really great verses that further show He is able, as I don’t want you to just take my word for it.

“And God is able to make to make all grace abound to you, so that having all sufficiency in all things at all times, you may abound in every good work.” ~ 2 Corinthians 9:8

“For because He Himself has suffered when tempted, He is able to help those who are being tempted.” ~Hebrews 2:18

“Now to Him who is able to do far more abundantly than all that we ask or think, according to the power at work within us, to Him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, forever and ever. Amen.” ~Ephesians 3:20-21

I want to conclude by telling you about a recent experience where God really showed me He is truly able to do anything. This incident reminded me just how much He can do just through the heartfelt prayers of me and many others. A few weeks ago there was a tragic plane crash in my area. Our local airport generally consists of small planes with oftentimes just a pilot or two aboard. As soon as I heard a plane had crashed, I immediately began praying for the pilot(s) that were involved, as I just assumed it was a small plane with no other passengers. As the details came in later that night and in to the next day, it turned out to be a jet, and that there were several passengers aboard in addition to the pilots. There were sadly fatalities, but, to everyone’s great surprise, there were also survivors. When I first heard it was the two pilots who had survived, I thought that must have made sense as it sounded like it was the back end of the plane that had the most impact. About a day later though, it hit me like a thunderclap. Wait, hadn’t I (and I’m sure many others) prayed specifically that the pilots would survive, as I thought they were probably the only ones onboard!? After seeing the severity of the wreckage, even the investigators were dumbfounded as to how they made it. By this point there were news stories stating how people claimed this had to be an act of God. I believe that wholeheartedly. My God is still in the miracle making business, and He loves to proclaim that indeed “He is able”.

I thought I’d share with you a really great song from Hillsong, which is also called “He is Able”. Click here to watch it. Enjoy!

One thought on “Guest Post: “He is Able”

Please feel free to comment. I'd love to hear from you!

