My Constant

Things  change. Life happens, and sometimes the things you depend on the most suddenly aren’t what they’ve always been. Anyone anywhere at any age can relate to this.

I’ve heard it said that you’re always growing closer to someone or away from them; you never stay in one place. Because relationships change, too.

Often, these changes require decisions: Which way do I go? Who do I trust? And then, as you’re sorting through the decisions, more questions come: Why can’t this be the way it always was? Why is this up to me to decide? What happens if I make the wrong choice?

It’s life. And it’s tough.

When I was in high school, the biggest decision facing me was which college to attend. After that, I assumed I had at least four more years before I needed to make any more big choices. Um, no. Suddenly, I find myself halfway through college, and I’m being asked what I’m going to do next. Are you going to grad school? What are you going to study? And my personal favorite: You’re an English major? Are you going to teach? If not, what can you even do with that degree? Fun times, especially when all you can offer people is a couple of the options flipping through your head, a shrug, and an “I’ve still got some time to decide.” For now, that’s enough, but I know all too soon I won’t be able to use that statement as a crutch.

Other things change, too. Life stuff. I’m talking about changes in general,  but I know you can apply this to specific things in your life. Sometimes things change for the good, and it’s a relief. Sometimes they change for the bad, and it’s heartbreaking. Sometimes changes don’t even seem to be good or bad; they’re just changes.

Recently, I’ve been trying to sort through some big decisions. There are some things in my life that are changing regardless of what I do, but I have to do whatever is best in those situations. The only problem is, I’m not sure what to do, because neither choice is necessarily bad or wrong. It’s confusing, and over the past several months when people have asked me what I’m going to do, I’ve honestly admitted I haven’t let myself slow down enough to think it through. Because when you let yourself start mulling over stuff, it can consume your thoughts. I don’t have time for that because, believe me, my French grade needs all of the extra thought I can give it right now. But that’s a moot point.

The other day I was driving home from school, and I let myself start thinking about the inevitable decisions coming my way. Last thing I knew, I didn’t have anything to figure out; I was just studying my way through school and enjoying the rest of life as it’s been for a while. As I started sorting through some things, I started to become overwhelmed by all of the things that are changing (and will change in the future). At one point, I found myself telling God:

“I just need something constant in my life right now. Something that doesn’t change!”

As soon as those words left my mouth, God spoke. Not audibly, but I heard Him so strongly He might as well have been sitting in the car next to me. He said, Here I am.

As He said that, I felt His presence. I felt it strongly. I also felt all of the dust swirling in my mind begin to settle down. Because I was reminded of the fact that I do have a Constant in my life. His name is Jesus Christ.

After that, Scripture verses began to run through my mind; a sacred montage of moments in history when God has promised He will always be there for His children:

“Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.” – Deuteronomy 31:6

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” – Jeremiah 29:11-13

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.” – Joshua 1:9

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding;
in all your ways submit to him,
and he will make your paths straight.” – Proverbs 3:5-6

And so many more.

We have a Constant. We have One who will always be with us, if we let Him. He is the only thing that won’t let us down, won’t give up on us, won’t leave us. He will never change. Life is constantly changing. Actually, I’m beginning to learn that life is change. Life is living, breathing, moving. And although I don’t know what the future holds, I know Who holds my future.

Hebrews 13:8 says it perfectly:

“Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever.”

He is my Creator, my Savior, my Father, my Shepherd, my Lord. My Constant.

Whatever changes you’re currently facing, take comfort in the One who is Constant.

In His unchanging love,

Anna

2 thoughts on “My Constant

Please feel free to comment. I'd love to hear from you!

