Guest Post: “Blog Post Fun”

allisonanna I’m really excited about today’s post! Not only is it another guest post, it’s also written by someone who doesn’t usually write. Allison and I go to school together, and I met her through BCM. There’s not much introducing I need to do, since she’ll cover it in her post, but I’ll go ahead and say this: You’re about to read a post by a very dear friend who God brought into my life at the perfect time. She has a heart for our Lord, and she’s beautiful both inside and out. She’s one of my faithful blog readers and biggest encouragers when it comes to my writing. She’s also incredibly fun to be around, and she’s not afraid to put me in my place if I ever pick on her or something…not that I ever would ;)

Keep reading to see what Allison has to say!

In His love,

Anna

P.S. After reading this, I think you’ll agree she should do the whole writing thing more often.

“Blog Post Fun” by Allison Vick

Hello fellow readers of Anna’s blog! My name is Allison and I am a junior in college. I am a history major with a certificate in Secondary Education. Long story short… I am not a creative writer. I write historical papers often, yet my good friend Anna has provided me a chance to write to you all even though I lack the experience. With that being said, thank you for taking this short journey with me!

It’s the end of May and some of you are experiencing the first joys of summer, yet others are still working or taking part in dreaded summer classes. No matter which category you fall in or what part of life you happen to be in at the moment, I think we all have experienced the moment of decision-making where you are staring down several different paths. Forget one road diverging. Its like Borges’ Garden of Forking Paths where it seems your whole future will depend on the decision you make at that very moment. And you can see that it will branch off in several directions, yet you don’t have the luxury to see how it all turns out.

I have a hard time deciding where I want to eat at the mall food court, therefore when the time came to make the decision as to where I would go to college, you can imagine that it was a grand time. It just so happens that when you are in the process of taking the SAT or ACT, you are supposed to include a list of colleges you want your scores sent to. Therefore, in the spring of my junior year of high school, at the age of 16, I was attempting to figure out how to make a list of five schools that were a possibility to attend. Though I had made many decisions in the past, this one appeared to be the biggest one I had faced yet. You try to think through campus visits, random pamphlets, college fair visits, school colors, school mascots, and school paraphernalia. I mean, everyone wants a cool logo to wear to his or her high school college day, right? Not to mention keeping in mind distance from home, if they have your major (who knows what your major is when you are still 16?), if their dorms are livable, do they have a Target, Chick-fil-a? You see? It gets complicated…especially when you realize that it is your home for the next four, five, six years. It’s like I am reliving the stress that took place. Now on top of that everyone has an opinion on where you should go. Friends, neighbors, family, and then on top of that they ask you daily where you are going to go and what you will major in. There is a lot of stress in decision-making. Internally and Externally. For those of you who have been in this position before, you know exactly what I am talking about, and some of you may even be in the midst of making a life decision at this very moment.

I prayed. And prayed. And prayed. And prayed some more. I had no clue where in the world I was going to end up. For those of you who don’t know me, please allow me to tell you that I am a planner. Literally. I like to know exactly how each thing will happen, when, and what the result will be. The thought of having no idea how everything would turn out was enough to make my stomach turn. My actual planner is color-coded and has every detail in it. Yes, I wanted God’s plan but I wanted to know what it was and every detail about it. This was a whole new level of trust I had not encountered previously.

Throughout my senior year, the decision day crept closer. I had applied to several schools, and it was time to decide which of those would be IT. I had been on two different visits to two schools that I had for sure decided on. And both visits ended with this feeling that it wasn’t it. It was when I walked onto my school’s campus for a visit that I had this weird feeling. A feeling of home. But not the feeling like it was in my comfort zone. It was a weird, peaceful feeling. This visit came much later than the date I had decided on as to when my decision should be made. And I knew that all of my friends would inevitably disagree with my decision to attend this school. I knew they would think that I was making the safe choice. The choice made by the girl who was so dearly attached to her family and her life in her hometown. Yet I knew that this was the right decision.

It is two years later and I am halfway done with my program at my university. I can tell you that it is by the grace of God that I have had the opportunity to attend this university. I always pictured myself at a Christian school, and I think that a Christian education is something I would absolutely love to take part in…but at this moment in my life, I am at the place where the Lord wants me now. I have had the incredible opportunity to meet some truly incredible and Godly people on our campus through Baptist Collegiate Ministry. And I see God work in the lives of these amazing individuals and on this campus everyday…I can’t imagine where I would be without these people and what they have meant to my walk with the Lord.

God has placed us where we are for a very specific purpose. He has placed us in the mission field whether we are in a foreign country, a college campus, the workforce, or in our “hometown”. He has a fantastic plan for our lives if we give Him control. See, God used this decision making process to show me how much I desired control in my life…how much I gave Him pieces of my life when what He desired was my life. All of it. And looking back on that hard time of decision-making, I see it in a whole new light. He has a great plan for our lives. One far beyond what we can see in the moment. I am so so glad that I am not the planner of my life. Instead it was planned by the creator of the universe. Someone who deserves all glory and all praise. Someone who makes no mistakes and works everything for the good of those who love Him. Someone who turns ashes into beauty.

So today I hope wherever you are, no matter what you are facing…that you can be fully confident and encouraged that the God of the universe cares about you and has a plan greater than anything you can imagine where you are standing right now.

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, declares the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.” –Isaiah 55:8-9

Thanks for sticking with me!

In Christ,

~Allison Vick

4 thoughts on “Guest Post: “Blog Post Fun”

  1. Oh, yes, I agree with Anna. Definitely should write more often! :)

    I’m 14. I’m not supposed to know what I’m majoring in, either. And yet…my mom is trying to figure out homeschooling high schoolers, and part of that is dual enrollment. And part of dual enrollment is sort of knowing what you’re going to major in. And yes, it is stressful. I’m trying not to let it be, but it still is a bit. I’m horrible at making decisions, too.

    And being a planner? Well, I’m not usually. BUT, I like to have everything figured out and yeah, I’m learning to let go of that.

    Wonderful post! Like I said up top, you’re a great writer! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • I never duel enrolled, but I have a lot of friends who did. One of my sisters is looking into all of that right now, too. The good news is, there are usually several core classes you’ll have to take regardless of your major (like a math, English, psychology, etc). And if you end up going to a four-year school that requires lots and lots of core classes (my world…), then you’ll have time to decide on a major or even switch it later before you get into the “big stuff.”
      I guess I say all of that to say this: I’m horrible at decisions, too, but I’ve learned (and I’m still learning, as I think about grad school) that focusing on one step at a time and not letting yourself become overwhelmed really helps keep the stress down. Even if it’s just starting off by saying, “What’s one way through which I love serving God? Is there a major that would teach me how to do that and lead to a career in it?”
      That was my launching point in high school ;)

      Like

  2. Pingback: Guest Post: “God. Is. Love.” (Part 1) | Anna Schaeffer

Please feel free to comment. I'd love to hear from you!

