Guest Post: “God.Is.Love.” (Part 2)

This is the second in a three-part series by Allison Vick. Click here to read Part One.

***

“God. Is. Love.” – Part Two, by Allison Vick

We are in Easter season right now. Some people call this the Passion week. When was the last time you were floored by God? Like completely and utterly in awe of who God is and what He did for you?

I had a Job moment recently. I cried out to the Lord with so many questions. So many concerns. So much of just God where are you, and where are you in this? But see, the book of Job doesn’t just lay out all of Job’s concern without reply from God. See, in Job Chapter 38 God says, “Where were you when I laid the earth’s foundation? Tell me, if you understand.” And it continues as God expresses His greatness and His all-knowing power.

Have you ever had one of these moments? Go ahead you can raise your hand, nod your head. Something…Well, see, these moments at first make me want to go crawl in a hole and hope that God can’t see me…and then I realize: Wow. He is right. God is God. I am not. Isaiah 29:16 says, “Shall what is formed say to the one who formed it, ‘You did not make me?’ Can the pot say to the potter ‘You know nothing?’”

My moment was God just revealing to my heart that my purpose and my goal is to point people to Jesus, but I was never intended to BE Jesus. See, I am a fixer. I see something and all I want to do is make it better. Right then and there. I hate seeing hurting people and feeling like I can’t do something. I just want to take it on myself.

But God says, I sent my Son to take on the problems of this world. The funny thing is, even if I had wanted to be the sacrifice for my friends and family to take the weight for them, 1) it has already been done. IT. IS. FINISHED. 2) It wouldn’t have done anyone any good. I am not perfect. Jesus had to come to be the perfect sacrifice. All that would have accomplished was what I DESERVED.

But the story doesn’t end there. You and I don’t have to get what we deserve. Louie Giglio said, "Jesus was the innocent one made guilty, He was the perfect one ripped to shreds, He was the one who had no deceit in his mouth…I am the one who put Jesus on the cross.” That is a sobering reality. My sin. My shame. My guilt. Is what put Jesus on the cross. We can point the finger at Pontius Pilate. Point the finger at Judas. Point the finger at the crowd who yelled for Him to be crucified. The crowd who would rather release Barabbas and hang THEIR Savior. OUR Savior.

But see, Romans 5:8 reminds us that while we were still sinners Christ died for us. He came knowing our sin. Knowing what we would do. He came anyway. I don’t know if that is your first time hearing it or your 1,000th. But no matter what, wow. He didn’t see a lost cause when He looked at you. Scripture says He came to seek and to save the lost. He didn’t just come to tell us we were sinful. He didn’t just come to tell us we were doomed. That we were a lost cause. He came to give us hope. To give us new life. To give us a purpose. I don’t know about you but sometimes I am just like, “God I wish you hadn’t had to do that for me. I wish I had done better. I wish I hadn’t failed.”

But it truly is FINISHED.

***

Come back tomorrow to read the final installment.

One thought on “Guest Post: “God.Is.Love.” (Part 2)

  1. Pingback: Guest Post: “God.Is.Love.” (Part 3) | Anna Schaeffer

Please feel free to comment. I'd love to hear from you!

