Guest Post: “God.Is.Love.” (Part 3)

This is the final post in a three-part series by Allison Vick. Click here to read Part One, and click here to read Part Two.

***

“God. Is. Love.” – Part Three, by Allison Vick

So what now? What do we do with this good news? With this Easter story that is being told over and over during this time? What we do is take on a new perspective. We take the cross on as our perspective. When I fail and fall short of what I have been called to do, it’s easy for me to get caught up in shame. It’s easy for me to forget Whose I am and what He has done. See, if I carry this shame it’s like I forget what Galatians 2:21 says: “I do not set aside the grace of God, for if righteousness could be gained through the law, Christ died for nothing.” So I urge you not to “set aside the grace of God.”

One day, I read an author who talked about how when she felt shame she had to picture Jesus on the cross. To imagine looking at His nail scarred hands. And realizing the truth. That it is finished. Galatians 3:13 says, “Christ redeemed us from the curse of the law by becoming a curse for us, for it is written: ‘Cursed is everyone who is hung on a pole.’” Your Savior came to redeem you. Walk in His freedom. Walk in His new life. And once we do that we can see others with a cross perspective as well.

Sometimes I come across people and I go, “Well, that person is so against God they will never come to Him. It’s a lost cause.” But I realize it’s not my position to say that. God didn’t look at me and see a lost cause. He looked at me and saw my sin and saw His Son’s perfect blood covering my stains. His daughter redeemed and part of the family. “So in Christ Jesus you are all children of God through faith, for all of you who were baptized into Christ have clothed yourselves with Christ.” So I am starting to realize I need to see people the way Christ sees people. There are people who don’t know the good news of a Savior who came for them. Who don’t realize they can be adopted into the family of God. And see, you and I don’t have to be God. It’s not our job to save someone. But God does call us to share His Word. To share the good news of hope and life.

So now my goal when I see someone is not to jump to judgment. Not to see a lost cause. But to see my Savior hanging on a tree for them the way he hung there for me. And to reach out and share that truth. See, I may not know what job title I will have in one year, five years, or twenty. My life may not look now like I imagined years ago. But I know one thing for certain: My God is alive. My Savior died for me and He died for you. That is all I know for certain. And I will cling to that. I will hold onto that. And my hope and goal is to share that. To love people the way Christ has called me to. You don’t have to know where God is going to place you down the road to begin serving and living for Him. We don’t have to serve to earn God’s love. But why would we not want to serve the one who took our sins? Who loved us no matter what we had done?

So often I let my pride get in the way of sharing my faith. But this life isn’t about me. Galatians 2 says I have been crucified with Christ. That means that MY life is done. My purposes. My will. My plans. They are gone. I am supposed to lay them at the foot of the cross and pick up God’s plan for my life. To walk in obedience and in step with Him. To share the truth with people. Yes, we are sinners. We were unrighteous. Romans 3 reminds us that there is no one righteous. Not even one. That Christ was the only one who was righteous. But if you keep reading Romans 3, verse 24 says, “And all are justified freely by his grace through the redemption that came by Christ Jesus.” It’s time for me to stop striving and start loving with the outpouring of love that Christ showed me.

I don’t know how old you are. I don’t know where you are in this journey of life. I am not even sure if you know me or I know you. But I know my God knows you. That He gave His Son for you. And that there is a world full of people out there who don’t have the hope of Christ in their life. I’m ready to start seeing with a cross perspective. To start sharing with people the hope that Christ has given me.

And one more song for good measure :-) Take it in. Let it bring you life and encouragement this Easter season:

“He gave all. Everything. And took my place that I would be free. To see what He’s done. To know why He’s come. What I owe is upon His head. For my account, my Savior bled. My debt it is nailed to the cross. It is all gone, my life has been bought. My debt it is nailed to the cross. He has paid every cost, it is all gone it is nailed to the cross. This record of my sin is cancelled now. All that I stood against is falling done before Him now.”
-Nailed to the Cross, Rush of Fools

I pray that in some way you have been encouraged by the truth of God’s word today and what He says about you. Now what? Let’s go. Go make disciples of all nations. In our schools. In our workplaces. In our churches. In our communities. All we have to do is being willing to go and do whatever He has called us to do. Lets reach out, and show people Who we are living for.

In Christ,

Allison

Colossians 2:13-15

Please feel free to comment. I'd love to hear from you!

