A Purpose for All of This

Some things get a lot more real when people know about them.

Like how it’s impossible for you to walk across your room to your bed in the dark. You flip the light switch and you run.

Or how you enjoy spending Friday evenings on the couch watching Disney Channel with a cup of coffee and your cat.

Or how you dust the baseboards in your room as a stress-buster.

Or how you wrote a book.

I’m only claiming that last one, for the record.

But yes. It’s been announced everywhere except on the blog, so I wanted to share it here and explain the “now what” of it all.

In November, I entered the New Look Writing Contest sponsored by Westbow Press (a division of Thomas Nelson and Zondervan. Y’know, the big guys).

Well, last week I learned I was a finalist in the competition. I won this:

writersmanual

It makes my nerd writer heart so happy.

Then, on the 13th of January, exactly one month after graduation (just throwing that out there), I learn this (click on the image to expand it):

WestbowContest

Second place, y’all.

This means a few things:

1) This is the story I’ve mentioned quite a few times on the blog. Examples:

If you follow those links, you can learn a little more about the story and why it’s been so important to me over the past couple years.

2) It’s titled…

 All of This.

The title is either:

a) Marketing genius because whenever the phrase pops up in everyday conversation, I can be like, “Hey, so speaking of all of this…”

b) Eventually going to make me question some of my decisions.

3) I’m in the beginning stages of exploring publishing with Westbow Press. This means that, before long, I may be able to share the actual story with you so you can actually read it. I’m so excited.

In the meantime, though, the details of the story are still under wraps. But as we get closer to the book becoming “real,” I’ll keep you updated.

But I  also want say thank you to all of you who support me, whether that’s through prayers, encouragement, or asking “when can I read your book?” Because all of that matters so much to me. And I don’t even know how to explain how sincerely I mean all of that. Because I truly am thankful.

I’m also thankful to the God who placed this dream in my heart. No, I’m still not sure of what’s next (life theme alert), but I’m trusting. I’m trusting that His plans are good and that He has a purpose for All of This.

Stay tuned,

Anna

4 thoughts on “A Purpose for All of This

  1. Pingback: The Updates | Anna Schaeffer

  2. Pingback: Happy 1st Birthday All of This! | Anna Schaeffer

Please feel free to comment. I'd love to hear from you!

