Currently…

So it’s summer and I find myself forgetting to post blogs (oops).

I read a lot of “currently” blog posts from other people, where they talk about what they’ve been doing recently. So for today, since I’ve got a book deadline and  homework, I thought I’d toss together one of my own.

Here we go!

Reading…

The Selection series by Kiera Cass.

A couple years late to this party, I know, but when these books were published I was doing stuff like surviving college, getting into grad school, publishing a book, etc. BUT NOW I’m reading it and liking it so much. It’s like Esther meets The Bachelor meets The Hunger Games without all of the carnage. It’s worth reading.

I’m also excited because book 5 just came out, so I can eat the whole series this summer, rather than waiting for the next one to come out. Currently, I just finished The Elite.

Listening to…

Podcasts! Love a good podcast!

Right now, I mainly keep up with  “That Sounds Fun” (Annie F. Downs) and “hope*writers” (Emily P. Freeman and others).

They’re free and automatically download to my phone, so they’re waiting for me as soon as they’re released. I listen to them while I’m getting ready to leave the house, cleaning, or driving around town.

Writing…

The sequel to All of This!  My goal is to have the first draft finished by the end of June. Oh my word.

Watching…

Netflix, of course. But I’m currently re-watching a series I’ve already seen (trying to study plot and character arcs and all that stuff…and calling it “research”), while looking for another series to watch.

Drinking…

A couple weeks ago, I went to a friend’s apartment for lunch and we had iced peppermint tea. I’m pretty religious about drinking Southern sweet tea, like, always. But iced mint tea sweetened with honey is unbelievably light and delicious. And healthier!

Here’s my method:

  1. Bring water to a boil and brew tea bags (for a half gallon of tea, I use 4-5 regular teabags).
  2. Pour into pitcher.
  3. Add honey and stir (I guesstimate on the amount. A couple of tablespoons, probably).
  4. Fill pitcher the rest of the way with cool water.
  5. Stir again.
  6. Serve over ice.

That’s it! The main thing to remember is to mix in the honey before you add cool water, otherwise it globs up and doesn’t mix well. #experience

Wearing…

NOT jeans and cardigans! It’s been chilly at school pretty much since August, and the classrooms are chilly too, so that’s all I’ve worn. I’m extra appreciative of t-shirts and gym shorts right now.

Smelling…

Weird category, I know. But listen: I got an essential oil diffuser for my birthday last month, which was perfect timing because I was recovering from a bad cough. I’ve got several oils, which I alternate between at night. My current favorites are peppermint and eucalyptus.

I’m not obsessed with the whole essential oils movement, but I’m a big-time fan of my diffuser.

———–

So there we go.  A quick recap of what’s been going on the past couple of weeks.

Until next time,

Anna

Let’s talk: What have you been up to recently?

7 thoughts on “Currently…

  1. Mostly been up to school and work, but here’s a few more details…

    I’ve been reading Creativity Inc by Ed Catmull, the founder of Pixar, and it’s been a really interesting book. He talks a lot about creativity and teamwork. I’m also reading and Samara’s Peril by Jaye L. Knight and slowly reading Mere Christianity. Yeah…three books at once is hard to balance. And beta reading for a friend on top of that!

    I’m working about 18-22 hours a week at Chick-fil-A. I’ve been there for almost 9 months now, and we’ve been hiring a bunch of new people lately, so there have been some changes. I’ve gotten to help train some of the newbies though, which is fun!

    In exactly two weeks when I finish Algebra 2, I will officially be done with high school (in my junior year, no less…)! Meanwhile, I currently have 18 college credits and will hopefully hit 24 the same day I finish math. I’ve been flying through some CLEP tests for the core subjects, and am currently taking a sociology course (online) and studying for the marketing CLEP. It’s so weird being a college student pretty much full time while still…you know, being a high school student. It’s been quite the journey so far, but I’m enjoying it. :)

    Like

    • That’s so awesome! You’ve been super productive recently…congratulations on being so close to the high school finish line! And for CLEP-ing some core stuff!

      Mere Christianity is still on my To Be Read list, but Creativity Inc. sounds really good too! I’ll have to look that one up. I recently wrote a term paper on how God works through human creativity to reveal Himself to people, so I had the opportunity to read a lot of books on creativity and culture-making. I’m really interested in that topic. And if you’re interested in more books on creativity, I can recommend some titles from my paper’s bibliography ;)

      Like

        • My top three recommendations…

          Culture Making by Andy Crouch is really, really good. My Theology professor recommended it to me for my paper, but it’s an all-around good book about how Christians shouldn’t just condemn culture. Instead, in order to change culture, we’re called to be culture-creators. It talks about God as creator and how we, as His image-bearers, channel that creativity.

          The theologian Francis Schaeffer (of no relation to me, haha) has a little book of essays on art, creativity, and the Gospel called “Art and the Bible.” It’s a tiny book so it’s inexpensive, but it’s packed with really good stuff and is really straight-forward and easy to understand. He talks about how anything – including “secular” creativity – can be used for God’s glory.

          Emily’s Freeman’s A Million Little Ways is also a go-to for me. That’s a really great book. It’s all about living as God’s image-bearers and seeing the call to glorify Him through creativity in everyday life.

          Like

  2. Pingback: 5 FREE Ways to Make the Most of Summer | Anna Schaeffer

Please feel free to comment. I'd love to hear from you!

