Summer to Me

I need to clean my room. It’s a problem. So I poured myself a second cup of coffee anddecided to write a blog post instead.
Memorial Day marked the unofficial start of summer, and it made me stop and think about what comes to mind when I think of this time of year. Growing up in the South, humidity and high temperatures are toward the top of the list, but there’s so much more I associate with this time of year…

  • Stargazing
  • Watermelon
  • Reading by the pool
  • Bare feet
  • Cool grass in the evenings
  • Rocking on the front porch, watching the sun set
  • Summer freckles
  • Tan skin (“tan” being a relative term, of course)
  • Ice cream trucks
  • Shorts and t-shirts
  • Beach trips
  • Windows down, volume up driving through the middle of nowhere
  • Slip ‘n slides and water balloon fights
  • Lake days
  • The tropical smell of sunscreen
  • Late nights
  • Grilling
  • Thunderstorms
  • After dinner walks through the neighborhood
  • The smell of fresh-cut grass
  • Camp fires and s’mores
  • Fireworks
  • A chance to breathe

I could go on, but I want to stop and ask: What about you? What sweet memories or traditions do you associate with summertime?
Let me know in the comments!

~ Anna

2 thoughts on “Summer to Me

  1. Sleeping in & staying up late(r)…
    The smell of chlorinated pools…
    Snow cones…
    Beach air and the repetition of bubbly waves…
    Grilling out…
    Road trips…
    Museums and parks with all my kids…

    Liked by 1 person

Please feel free to comment. I'd love to hear from you!

