Living a Dream – Europe Journal Part 9

Tuesday, June 20

My alarm went off at 5am Sunday morning because we were headed to Paris!

IMG_7454

My first view of Paris when we stepped out of the metro was a bird cage sale. Not even kidding – several booths were set up selling bird cages like you’d keep a parakeet in. Birds are my least favorite. Oh, irony. 

IMG_7279

I was thankful for a sunny day so I could wear my sunglasses and hide my tears so I didn’t look like the weirdo American tourist crying as she walked through Paris.

IMG_7462

It’s just that seeing Paris has been a life-long bucket list kind of dream for me. Ever since I was small and read about an old house in Paris that was covered in vines and the 12 little girls who livesd there, I’ve wanted to go. And although we were only there for the day and didn’t have time to go in in museums like the Louvre, it was still incredible.

IMG_7430

I first teared up as we crossed the border into France to board the train, but it really hit me when I saw Notre Dame with my own eyes. We went inside, and because it was Sunday, and 11:30 mass was starting. So we got to see and hear a little of that. 

IMG_7202

Notre Dame really takes the cake on all of the cathedrals we saw. 

IMG_7257

Stunning stained glass, intricately detailed sculptures  tall ceilings and ancient paintings – all of it so sacred and beautiful. 

IMG_7238

When I stepped into the courtyard of the Louvre, I stopped and caught my breath. Just physically being in the place I’d grown up imagining was amazing. 

IMG_7286

Emily was so kind and patient – it was her 3rd time in Paris – and indulged me while I oohed and ached and requested she take my picture with everything. 

IMG_7501

We toured the city on foot and ended the day back on the train. 

IMG_7438

Some of the things we saw: 

  • Notre Dame
  • The Louvre
  • The Arc de Triomphe 
  • The Eiffel Tower
  • and more!

IMG_7360

We bought crepes from a street vendor and had an early dinner sitting outside a restaurant, facing the street and enjoying croque monsieur and fries.

IMG_7428 

We then had pain au chocolat at the train station, something else I’ve always dreamed of eating in Paris. I really don’t even have words to describe the expeirience.

IMG_7495

The day was warm and the sky was a brilliant blue. I walked the Champs Elyses and I stood in the shadow of the Eiffel Tower.

IMG_7479

I keep saying I need to go back one day to go to the top of the tower (the lines would’ve taken more than an hour) and go in the Louvre. Plus, I have about 8 euros left that I’ll need to spend one day. 

IMG_7386

Will I be back? I’d love to believe so. Maybe not in the immediate future, but who knows? I never even dreamed up this possibility for this trip. 

IMG_7413

Emily and I have dreamed of going to Europe together one day, but we thought the season of traveling together might be over. 

IMG_7364

But God. The giver of good gifts, the granter of seemingly impossible dreams, the One who gives us more than we can ask or imagine, well beyond what we deserve – He did this. He knew all along He would grace us with this. Earlier in the year when I prayed for the opportunity to see more of His world, when I was tempted with discouragement – He knew. And He already knows what He will do next – how He will answer other prayers. 

IMG_7378

This post is part of my travel journal from my time in Europe. To read the previous entries, follow the links below:

Please feel free to comment. I'd love to hear from you!

