These Beautiful Days

Summer 2014 has been a whirlwind so far, and it’s not slowing down anytime soon. But it’s mostly been a great kind of crazy.

I spent the majority of my summer so far sans-laptop while it was hanging out in Texas or someplace awaiting repairs. I borrowed my mom’s laptop during that time, but all of my blogging notes were on my own laptop. Turns out, the company eventually sent me a refurbished, replacement laptop. I wasn’t ready to say goodbye to Hester yet, but at least I’m back to blogging. And I’ll hopefully have my notes retrieved from Hester soon.

So anyway, because May was probably one of the busiest months in the history of the life of Anna Schaeffer, I’m summarizing it in this post. At the beginning of the month, I made a list of big events that would happen in the upcoming weeks…and it’s got like fifteen bullet points on it. For example:

– May is birthday month in my family. Erin, Abby, and I all had birthdays within two weeks of each other. I’m now twenty-two. We’re getting on up there in age, folks.

10253788_10203887388611598_5063506048368777280_n
Erin, Abby, and me

– On my birthday, I attended my class ring ceremony, which made the whole graduating thing get really real really quickly.

10271636_10203839157045839_9209417645574618892_n

– I took final exams and ended the spring semester with copious amounts of coffee a bang.

– Some friends had two extra tickets to the Brandisa (Brandon Heath and Mandisa) concert that they gave Abby and me. The four of us had a great time singing along to some fantastic music…plus I got to meet Brandon Heath.

Okay, so technically, he didn’t know we met. But we did. See, at one point after an intermission, Brandon Heath went out into the audience. We heard him singing, but didn’t know where he was. Turns out, he was on our row, a few seats down. 

But wait, it gets more awesome.

So at some point he decides he might as well go back up on stage (because it’s his concert and everything). So he  walks on the seats and passes behind us. And when he passes by me, he kind of bumps into my right arm. So I literally had a brush with fame or something.

Now, I know what you’re thinking: Pictures or it didn’t happen, right? Oh, I have pictures. Behold:

                     IMG_0674                   IMG_0676

That’s not even zoomed in. I snapped them while he was passing by. If he ever happens to read this, I’ll just totally own it and not feel awkward at all,  since I was only twenty-one back then (Okay, so it was the day before my birthday…). But I felt like you all needed to know because it rocked.

– I directed my first wedding (my sisters and I are headed to the rehearsal in the picture at the beginning of this post). I’ve known the bride and groom since middle school, and I was beyond honored to have the opportunity to help make their beautiful, God-honoring wedding day special.

IMG_0774Because I have the coolest friends ever, they had sparkling grape juice at their reception. I snapped this picture while we were setting up the reception area.

P.S. Are we really old enough to be getting married?? Apparently, yes. Wow.

– Once we shipped (literally…they went on a cruise) the newlyweds off on their honeymoon, my friend Emily (the sister of the bride, maid of honor, and my dear friend) and I flew about as far away as we could possibly go while remaining in the contiguous U.S. and had ourselves an adventure. “Anna and Emily’s Ultimate Seattle (and Canada!) Adventure” deserves its own blog post, so I’ll share that with you later. And yes, our trip naming skills are top-notch.

10299157_10203945757390781_7795603146790331327_n
The Seattle skyline

– The day after Emily and I returned from our adventure, Abby graduated high school. That’s crazy.

10390947_10203944850248103_1154368903306588205_n
A then-and-now picture.

– We threw a grad bash for Abby at our house, and over 100 people attended. Lots of fun, friends, and fruit kabobs.

– Erin left for a summer in South Asia. As I type this, she’s nearing the end of her trip (but by the time this posts, she’ll be home!)

– I turned in all of my graduation applications. Now I’m five classes, an exit exam, and a senior portfolio away from receiving a Bachelor of Arts degree in December. Deep breathes…

– I began a summer Geology class and a summer scholars research program, which I completed a couple weeks ago. Stay tuned for a blog about Geology class.

IMG_1725So that was May, and I haven’t even mentioned things like the bridal shower, Mothers Day, or my life as a writer. It was such an incredible month, filled with so many blessings and reminders that every good and perfect gift truly does come from God.

As I write this, we’re in the second half of July, which means summer will end far before I’m ready to begin saying goodbye to life as a college kid. But in the meantime,  I’ll do my best to enjoy every grace-filled moment of this season of life. Because these truly are beautiful days.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                

2 thoughts on “These Beautiful Days

  1. Pingback: In the Middle | Anna Schaeffer

  2. Pingback: Fully | Anna Schaeffer

Please feel free to comment. I'd love to hear from you!

