Sheep or Stones? – Europe Journal Part 7

Monday, June 19

The fields on the hillside look like patchwork quilts. Trees and shrubs mark off the land like thick, fuzzy seams. 

IMG_6755

We play a game Emily made up called “Sheep or Stones?” where you look at the white/gray lumps in the distance to guess if they’re sheep or large rocks dotting the landscape.

IMG_6604

Sometimes it’s really hard to tell, although there’s an abundance of both. 

IMG_6856

Tomorrow is our last full day in Ireland, and I don’t want to leave. I don’t feel like I’ve soaked it all in yet – I so badly want to just be here, present and slow for a while. But life doesn’t pause, and there’s more world to see.

IMG_6839

Wednesday, June 21 

Monday we went to Dingle Peninsula – the Westernmost point of Europe. It took a few hours to drive out there, but was so very worth it. 

IMG_6776IMG_6788IMG_6787

There is actually, according to the guidebook, a larger sheep population that people population. I believe it, too. I’ve never seen so many sheep! I love them! My favorites are the super wooly ones that haven’t been sheared (shorn?) yet and that have the black faces.

So. cute. 

IMG_6846

While driving with pastures of sheep on either side of us, we recited the 23 Psalm. That was way cool. 

The Lord is my shepherd;
I shall not want.
He makes me to lie down in green pastures;
He leads me beside the still waters.
He restores my soul;
He leads me in the paths of righteousness
For His name’s sake.

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil; For You are with me;
Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;
You anoint my head with oil;
My cup runs over.
Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me
All the days of my life;
And I will dwell in the house of the Lord
Forever.

I was also reminded of the verse in Isaiah 40:11:

He tends his flock like a shepherd:
He gathers the lambs in his arms
and carries them close to his heart;
he gently leads those that have young.

We also talked about how sheep are dumb. But then, I thought of how the Shepherd knows how dumb they are, yet He loves them anyway. I was blown away at how much my Good Shepherd loves me, even though I’m a dumb, simple-minded sheep in comparison to all that He is. He is the Good Shepherd. 

IMG_6968

This post is part of my travel journal from my time in Europe. To read the previous entries, follow the links below:

3 thoughts on “Sheep or Stones? – Europe Journal Part 7

  1. Pingback: Lead Me to the Rock – Europe Journal Part 8 | Anna Schaeffer's Blog

  2. Pingback: Living a Dream – Europe Journal Part 9 | Anna Schaeffer's Blog

  3. Pingback: May the Road Rise Up to Meet You – Europe Journal Part 10 | Anna Schaeffer's Blog

Please feel free to comment. I'd love to hear from you!

